By: Jeremy M. Kossak

Armageddon has hit Earth. People are being vaporized in the streets. Thankfully hope is here. The team who would be the Justice League is taking on the big man himself: Darkseid! Meanwhile, an unmasked Batman has journeyed to Apokolips to rescue an unfortunate Superman who is being held at the mercy of Desaad and Steppenwolf. Superman certainly isn’t getting a magic carpet ride! Back on Earth, it’s Wonder Woman’s turn to take a stab at Darkseid. She sure does, right in the eye! As does Aquaman! Cyborg manages to use his tech to open a boom tube with a one way ticket back to the hell Darkseid came from. Batman succeeds in his rescue leading to a massive showdown between Superman and Darkseid. The rest of the “team” backs up Cyborg who, after a quick pep talk from Batman, sends Darkseid back through the tube. The resulting explosion is huge! Flash thinks they’re going to be blamed for everything, but instead the victory is celebrated in Washington DC. The group makes it clear that they’re not friends nor are they a team. But they decide to be one anyway. And so, the Justice League is born.

I had to read through this twice. The first time I went through it rather quickly, after the second time I realized how much of an action fest this really was. Justice League #6 is a popcorn comic for sure. I like that in this case. Everything: the stakes, the action, the visuals, are off the scale awesome. Johns and Lee rock this book. Cyborg gets his due and Darkseid gets a fantastic (and painful) beat down. The timing of this comic and my review are perfect too. I just watched Justice League: Doom, which has a good focus on Cyborg, and I just finished reading volume one of Jack Kirby’s Fourth World Omnibus. So I’m on a bit of a JLA and Fourth World high right now. I was pretty amazed at some of the redesigns. I would have liked to see more of Steppenwolf, Desaad was downright creepy! There’s a bit of mystery as well. Who is Darkseid’s daughter? Could it be Pandora? That’s a thread I’ll be paying attention to.

Speaking of Pandora, the backup story was written and drawn beautifully. Pandora herself is even more of a mystery now. I love how the Phantom Stranger is involved and that he’s aware of the altered reality. What does it mean for the New DCU? What does it mean for the new Justice League? This was a great finale to the first arc. I hope DC keeps this momentum going!

Overall Grade: 10/10

