Dave's Faves

Hello to all the DC fans out there!

I’m Dave… Most of you probably don’t know me, but I’m one of the co-creators (with Adam) of Simply DCU and Simply Superman Batman. I’m more involved with the behind the scenes stuff like web design and picture alterations but I recently came up with an idea after reading Green Lantern – New Guardians #6, which I will get to soon. I practically read every one of the New 52 DC books. At one point it was about 47 of the New 52, but I’ve recently narrowed it down to about 40. So yes I read a lot comics and no, I don’t have a life LOL.

Anyways, back to Dave’s Faves. While reading Green Lantern – New Guardians #6, I came across a page, well a panel in particular, that just made me say “Really?”. That was Page 7 on panel 4. (see below)


As you can see, it’s a zoomed in picture of Star Sapphire Fatality’s breasts with a word bubble positioned as if her breasts were talking. Now I understand that sex sells but this is beyond sex, this is just stupid and simply poor layout design. Despite all that, I loved it! It’s stuff like this actually makes me stop reading and ponder if this is done intentionally by the artist or if it was just a result of editing and cropping in the later stages of production. Now I hope it was done on purpose by the artist because then I like to imagine the thought process that had to occur, and I hope it went a little like this:


Artist – “Okay, hear me out… this panel is gonna show Fatality and I’m gonna display her intelligence and power by drawing an extremely close-up and detailed shot of her breasts, which of coarse will be only be 25% covered by the worlds tightest latex… oh ya, and I’ll add a word bubble pointed directly at her breasts, not her mouth, so it looks like her breasts are talking.
Editor – “I like it!

Okay I know this probably isn’t exactly how it went but I can dream though… LOL

Cya next time,
Dave

