By: Isaac Daniel Frisbie

“Now, with the teenaged powerhouse Cyborg at their side, this group of individual heroes must somehow put their differences aside to face the terror of Darkseid!” (DC Comics)

Darkseid is on a tear in this one!  There have been few issues where Darkseid does not feel like this force of nature.  Lee does a fantastic job translating this story onto the page and I can’t say enough about how good he is.  I loved how The Flash was able to outrun the Omega Beams to destroy another baddie.  The second beam had split and gone for Supes and it tears right through him.  By the way that panel is amazing.

The fight scene between GL and Darkseid, was pretty sweet too.  I admire Hal’s ability to never give up (something I think he does better than any other DC character).  Even Batman tries stopping him, and even then he does not stop.  Geoff Johns writes such great dialogue here and Lee conveys that conviction that Hal has so well.  The scene that really hooked me, was the one with Bruce and Hal.  The speech that he gives to Hal about working together was done very well.  The emotion in the scene was very strong and Lee translated that well.

 I also loved how they have not diminished Cyborg, instead making him an important cog in the gears of this team.  He could have very easily been a cast-off character like Aquaman has historically been.  The ending obviously left me hanging.  Seeing Apokolips left my jaw on the floor.

 

I try to be objective and critical when I review, but here it’s hard.  Justice league has become like one of my kids.  I am looking past flaws and just seeing the good.  All I see right now is greatness.  There is a reason this comic has been number one since it came out.  Many times the top spot is there because of name or who is involved.  I will argue that Geoff Johns is the best storyteller (along with Ed Brubaker) and Jim Lee is the best artist.  Still, these issues have been truly great.  I look forward to each new issue.  I’m the little kid sitting at his radio at the end of each episode eagerly waiting for the next.  Bravo DC.  You’re doing what you should have been doing long ago.

Overall Grade: 10/10

