Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

By: Adam Basciano

Aquaman_Vol_7_logo

With the veil of secrecy lifted, the flood gates are open, and Jason Momoa is finally talking about his role as Aquaman in various DC Cinematic Universe films. At the recent Walker Stalker Con in Atlanta, the actor opened up about playing the King of Atlantis. Regarding his previous secrecy and denial of the role he indicated; “Listen, I was asked to play it. You know, you audition and stuff like that, but the fact is you’ve just got to keep it quiet. You know what I mean, I was just trying to respect Warner Brothers, and everyone’s wishes. I’m really, really happy that I don’t have to be quiet anymore, because that’s really hard for me.” I totally understand that aspect of filming, but was filming a soap commercial in the exact same location where “Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice” was filming the best excuse he and WB could come up with to explain his presence there?..

Momoa with Aquaman Comic book

Talk turned to research and training for the iconic superhero role. The actor noted; “My family are some of the greatest water men on earth. I’m not, but I’m going to go train with them. But it’s really an honor just being a Polynesian. And water is the most important thing in this world and we all know it. It’s cool be a part of DC’s universe. I’m really excited to be with Warner Bros., and hopefully everyone likes it. And Zack Snyder’s a genius, so I’m really excited to be hanging out with him.” In regards to reading comic books, the one time Conan the Barbarian said; It’s really hard because you do these and they’re like, ‘Why’s he looking at Aquaman? Why’s he looking at this one?’ So you can’t really like research too much. When I was growing up, I really liked Spawn and Lobo. I read stuff like that. Lobo I was a big fan of. I didn’t read a lot of Aquaman, but I am now, and I will do the research.” My suggestion to him and to anyone who hasn’t, read the Geoff Johns written “Aquaman: The Trench”, “Aquaman: The Others”, and “Justice League: Throne of Atlantis.” These books will leave no doubt that Aquaman is a bad ass, and a kick ass character.

Aquaman - Beard and hook!

While Jason Momoa confirmed his first official appearance will be in “Justice League” before starring in the solo “Aquaman” film, he stayed tight-lipped about his supposed cameo in “Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice.” What we do know is that “Justice League” will be directed by Zack Snyder, set for release on November 10, 2017. Meanwhile, Aquaman currently being written separately by Kurt Johnstad and Will Beall, is set for release on July 27, 2018.  Jason Momoa is Polynesian, a culture that worships water based gods, and starred in the spinoff “Baywatch: Hawaii” and “Stargate: Atlantis.” Not to mention, he studied Marine Biology…Yeah, this guy was born to play Aquaman!

(Source: ComicBook.com)

